Prof. P.N. Tandon

Prof. P. N. Tandon graduated with an MBBS and MS from the University of Lucknow in 1950 and 52 respectively, and then trained at the University of London and obtained his FRCS in 1956. He further obtained specialist training in neurosurgery at Oslo (Norway), and Montreal (Canada). After a brief tenure as a professor at the K.G. Medical College, Lucknow (1963–65), he moved to the prestigious All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi where he founded the neurosurgery department. He has been a professor of neurosurgery, a Bhatnagar Fellow (CSIR) and then a professor emeritus. Prof P N Tandon, an elected fellow of the National Academy of Medical Sciences, was the President of the Indian National Science Academy in 1991-92 and has been awarded Padma Shri (1973) and Padma Bhushan (1991) by the Government of India. He is one of the most eminent neuroscientists of the country. He retired as professor and head of the department of neurosurgery, AIIMS in 1990.

1st  Dr. P.N. Tandon Oration was held on 14.02.2015 in J.L. Auditorium, AIIMS. Professor Kenji Ohata from Osaka delivered the Oration on the topic “Surgery of Craniopharyngiomas”.
2nd  Dr. P.N. Tandon Oration was held on 18.02.2017. Dr. Anil P. Karapurkar, Senior Consultant, Endovascular Neurosurgeon, Breach Candy Hospital, Mumbai delivered the oration on the topic “Endovascular Neurosurgery-Past and Present”.
3rd   Dr. P.N. Tandon Oration was held on 14th Feb, 2019 in the Conference Hall, AIIMS, New Delhi. Dr. Mayank Goyal from Canada was the orator.

Prof. P.N. Tandon Oration




1 Professor Kenji Ohata 2015
2 Dr. Anil P. Karapurkar 2017
3 Prof. Mayank Goyal 2019
4 Prof. V. K. Jain 2021
5 Prof. Ashwini Sharan 2023