8th to 10th February, 2024

Venue: SET facility and Conference Hall - AIIMS- New Delhi-110029

*As per Govt of India guidelines, COVID preventive protocols like hand sanitization, social distancing and wearing of face masks will be mandatory.

Background History

Background History

AIIMS Microneurosurgery Workshop began in the year 1998 upon the initiation by Prof. A.K. Banerjee , Prof. P.N. Tandon and Prof. V.S. Mehta as a Informal get-together where Neurosurgeons could directly visualize live surgeries from the operating rooms performed by experienced surgeons and also have their queries answered regarding the surgical technique. The workshop became so popular that the department decided to make it an annual affair. It was then integrated with the annual prestigious Sarveshwari Memorial Oration. Over the years, a number of well reputed National and International faculty participated in the workshops alongwith the AIIMS faculty.
The workshop is unique consisting of live surgeries without any didactic lectures with a continuous interaction with the operating surgeons as well other visiting faculty. The atmosphere at the workshop is informal and a wide range of neurosurgical operations are demonstrated. Another unique aspect of this workshop is the facility available for the attending delegates to choose the cases for surgical demonstrations. No wonder, the workshop has been a big success especially with the neurosurgical trainees. The registration has been also kept to a bare minimum to allow students and delegates from economically challenged areas to attend the workshop.
Over years, the strength of attending delegates graudally increased and now not only include delegates from for all over the country but also from neighbouring countries as well.

Earlier Workshops

S.No. Year

International Faculty

National Faculty

1 1999 A. David Mendelow A.K. Banerjee, Rana Patir
2 2000 Alister Jenkins KVR Sastri
3 2001 Alan Crockard B.K. Mishra
4 2002 Yoshio Suzuki V.K. Khosla
5 2003 Albino Bricolo B.S. Das
6 2004 Hirotoshi Sano Atul Goel
7 2005 Prof. Testuo Kanno V.K. Jain
8 2006 Roberto C. Heros R.N. Bhattacharya
9 2007 Arnold Menezes B.A. Chandramouli
10 2008 Brian Brophy Suresh Nair
11 2009 Prof. Anil Nanda Prof. V. Rajshekar
12 2010 Prof. Madjid Samii Prof. Ravi Ramamurthi
13 2011 Prof. Andrew Kay Prof. Mathuriya
14 2012 Prof. Takeshi Kawase Prof. Raj Kumar
15 2013 Prof. Juha Hernsneimi Prof. Sanjay Behari
16 2014 Prof. Henry Schroeder Prof. S,K.Gupta
17 2015 Prof. William Couldwell Prof. C.E.Deopujari
18 2016 Prof. Dachling Pang Prof. B.K. Mishra
19 2017 Prof. Charles Teo Prof. Muthu Kumar/ Prof. Anil Karapurka
20 2018 Prof. Richard Fessler Prof. A. K. Singh
21 2019 Prof. Dachling Pang Prof. Sandip Chatterjee